9th Brunel Awards 2005

Copenhagen, Denmark


[list-related-attach userrole=”member”]

The Watford Group had exclusively authorised Danish State Railways DSB
 to conduct the 9th Brunel Awards International Railway Design Competition. 
A distinguished jury composed of internationally respected design professionals 
judged the competition in Copenhagen in June 2005 and announced the winners
in July 2005.
The formal awards ceremony took place in Copenhagen at the Royal Danish Academy 
of Fine Arts, School of Architecture, on 14 September 2005.
It was followed by the Watford Conference 2005
All winning and commended entries received the official Brunel Certificate of Recognition.
Award-winning, commended and selected projects have been published in the competition catalogue and exhibited in the Royal Academy of fine Art, School of Architecture.
You can find a selection of press photos on DSB-website.
You can also find a website with a presentation of 2005 entries of Swiss Railways,
winner of the Special Jury Price for overall quality.


Brunel Coordinator:



DSB Salg

Kalvebod Brygge 32, 5.
DK – 1560 København V
Tel. direct line: +45/ 24 68 9344
Fax: +
email: brunel-2005@watford-group.org



Jury decision:


Category 1- Architecture

  • Entry ID 118- Zug Station, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 111- Bern-Wankdorf, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 141- Aix en Provence TGV Station, France SNCF
  • Entry ID 077- Zaragoza Delicias Station, Spain
  • Entry ID 087- Baden Station, Austria OBB
  • Entry ID 065- Pavijoenkap Zwolle, Netherlands Prorail


Category 2- Graphics, Industrial design and Art

  • Entry ID 120- Zug Station, Turell light installation, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 106- Venus in Valby sculpture, Denmark DSB
  • Entry ID 058- “Northern window to the world” – JR tower art project at Sapporo Station, Japan JR Hokkaido

Category 3- Technical Infrastructure and Environment

  • None


Category 4- Rolling Stock

  • None



Category 1- Architecture

  • Entry ID 140- Train stop in Tosses, Spain, ADIF
  • Entry ID 113- Muntelier-Lowenberg Station, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 103- Northwest line stations, Denmark, DSB
  • Entry ID 063- Barendrecht Station, Netherlands, Betouve Line
  • Entry ID 115- Langenbold Station, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 004- Minatomirai Station, Japan JR TT
  • Entry ID 102- Flintholm Station, Denmark DSB S-Train/National Rail etc.
  • Entry ID 149- Paris Nord Espace Transilien, France SNCF
  • Entry ID 024- Saitama-Shintoshin Station, Japan JR East
  • Entry ID 038- Papa Railway Station, Hungary MAV


Category 2- Graphics, Industrial design and Art

  • Entry ID 105- Uniforms, Denmark DSB
  • Entry ID 076- Full color LED departure display, Japan JR East
  • Entry ID 057- LCD Display – Fonts and Layouts, Germany DB


Category 3- Technical Infrastructure and Environment

  • Entry ID 020- Centenari Bridge, Spain FGC Catalunya Railways
  • Entry ID 122- Landscaping at Brunnmaten, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 123- National Maintenance Center in Geneva, Switzerland SBB
  • Entry ID 099- New typologies for signal boxes, Austria OBB
  • Entry ID 108- Køge Bugt Service Center, Denmark DSB S-Train


Catagory 4- Rolling Stock


  • Entry ID 128- Electric low floor multiple unit FLIRT, Switzerland SBB


Jury’s Special Prize

  • Switzerland SBB -20 entries


The SBB entries were very consistent on all levels while remaining varied in design. The SBB has maintained its high quality standards for decades and works with the best architects. They choose different architects whom preserve a regional attitude in their architecture.


There was a consensus in the jury to award this prize to the SBB.