The Watford Group



The Watford Group is an international volunteer association consisting of professionals involved in railway architecture and design and the impact of heavy rail transport to its associated environment.

The members of the Watford Group come from railway administrations, institutions, companies and daughter companies as well as heavy rail transport and heavy rail infrastructure owners and operators. The Watford Group has no membership fees and no income, it therefore has no budget or assets. All activities are financed independently by the members concerned, on their own account. Today it covers about 20 different countries including USA and Japan.


The Watford General Assembly of all delegations, held annually at the Conference, is the basic authority on all matters regarding the aims, the organisation and the administration of the Watford Group.


The General Assembly selects the host countries to hold the future Watford Conference and authorizes the Brunel Awards. Also the delegations select among their midst the members of the steering group, chaired by a representative of the years hosting country.


Watford Secretary 2016


Gunnar Sørensen

Senior Projectleader – Gottlieb Paludan, Denmark


Watford steering group 2016


Rob Stringa (NL)


Andreas Heym (F)


Aileen Thomas (D)


Gunnar Sørensen (DK)